Development Services

The Development Services Department is made up of 3 separate divisions: The Building Standards Division, the Central Permitting Division and the Planning Division.

Building Standards
The Building Standards Division performs field inspections using the North Carolina state building codes, and does plan reviews of all commercial building projects and enforces the Iredell County minimum housing ordinance.

Central Permitting
The Central Permitting Division issues permits for all contractor's trades and assists with all permitting functions including records retention and financial processes.
Building Standards Center sign in front of the building

Planning & Development

Planning & Development provides public services related to land development activities. Functions of the department include current and long-range planning, subdivision of property, sedimentation and erosion control and Geographic Information System (GIS) analysis.

Division employees also serve as staff support and technical advisers to the Iredell County Board of Commissioners as well as several other Iredell County boards, including the Planning Board, Board of Adjustment, and Farmland Preservation Board.